PIERCING (2019)

Director: Nicholas Pesce. Performers: Mia Wasikowska, Christopher Abbott

Utterly unlikeable characters (with Mia Wasikowska managing what I’d thought impossible, namely appearing deeply unattractive), dialogue more rotten than an infected Prince Albert; “I want you to wear my skin…”, and a run time, at 82 minutes, a good 60 minutes longer than necessary! Piercing tried to be far too clever & stylish than it actually was; with silly flashbacks, even sillier “flesh crawling” insects and an ending I saw coming a mile away, so was bored by way before it eventually happened. I gave it half a star for Christopher Abbott’s performance in the scenes in the hotel room before Wasikowska’s entrance. Some films run for 2 or 3 hours yet fly by in a gripping, engaging speedway ride. Piercing just grated along like a ship on rocks, for what seemed like 2 hours. It was Tuesday night ‘ready meal for one’ dressed up as Saturday night ‘steak dinner for two’! I really wanted it to be more than gross, gloopy, gimp gore. It wasn’t! 3/10

Failed to prick my skin….

Published by film280reviews

This is the full film review site for Twitter: https://twitter.com/film_280/ I also post on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/FilmReview280/ Here I post fuller, fleshed out reviews of particular movied I think worthy of a longer critique. Please feel free to comment & suggest. After all, art is subjective! I hope you enjoy reading my reviews... Billy lives on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, near Harrogate. A 49 year old writer and poet; and some time actor, he is passionate about film and enjoys nothing more than a "movie marathon" lasting until the next day - occasionally. Billy lives in a large bungalow with his husband Lee, 2 dogs and extremely vocal Alexandrine Parrot called Basil...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started